MARRIAGE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS FOR TEXAS
Residence/Citizenship – There are no residence or citizenship requirements.
Proof of Age – Anyone 18 and over may present identification that reflects their legal name and date of birth (i.e. driver’s license, state ID card, passport). If under age 18, a birth certificate is required and parent or legal guardian must provide identification.
Social Security Number – Each person must provide their Social Security Number. You do not have to present your card.
Waiting Period – A waiting period of 72 hours (3 days) is required between issuance and marriage. The waiting period may be waived for active military, or by a family law judge.
Blood tests not required – But, a doctor’s physical exam might avert medical surprises.
Blood Relationship – The blood relationship between the bride and groom cannot be closer than first cousins (i.e. uncle-niece, half-brother-sister may not marry one another).
Marriage License Fee – The 2010 fee is $72. Cash only. (The fee is subject to change).
Special Reduced Fee – Couples who receive a Certificate of Completion for an 8 hour marriage preparation course (such as Twogether in Texas) qualify for a $12 fee, not $72.
Where to Apply for a Marriage License – Application for marriage licenses can be made in the County Clerk’s Office in any county in the state of Texas. The marriage may take place in any county in the state of Texas, but will be recorded in the county of issue.
The County Clerk’s Office for LUBBOCK COUNTY is located at:
904 Broadway, Room 207, Lubbock, TX 79401
Phone: (806) 775-1054 or 775-1055
Licenses issued from 8:30a.m. to 4:30p.m.
Important Things to Remember About Marriage License Applications
- Both the prospective Bride and Groom must sign the application before a marriage license can be issued. If either one is unable to appear in person (incarceration, etc.), call the clerk’s office to explore options available to them.
- A marriage license is issued when both applicants have signed (under age, parental consent has been signed) and fee has been paid in cash. After being issued, the license expires in 30 days from the date of issue. The marriage can take place anywhere in the state of Texas, and is recorded in the county of issue.
- If divorced, an applicant must wait 30 days from the day the divorce was granted before applying for a marriage license, unless waived by a family law judge.
- Each applicant must answer the question on the application concerning delinquent child support obligations. However, delinquent child support does not prevent the issuance of a marriage license.
- In Texas, persons of the same sex may not be issued a marriage license.
- Persons authorized to conduct marriage ceremonies are:
* A licensed or ordained Christian minister or priest.
* A Jewish rabbi.
* A person who is an officer of a religious organization and who is authorized by the organization to conduct a marriage ceremony, a judge (city, county, or state).
*Information current as of January 11th, 2010…provided by Rev. Fred Baker in consultation with Lubbock County Clerk’s Office.